Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)

The Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum (EYFS) is the stage of education from preschool to the end of the Reception Year.  Its principles are based on the recognition that young children learn through play and active learning.  In their first year at Sandringham, the children continue this curriculum, building on the foundations already learned at preschool or from their time spent in child care. This then links into the National Curriculum beginning in Year 1. 


The EYFS has 4 principles

  •  A Unique Child: Every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.                                             
  • Positive Relationships: Children learn to be strong and independent from a base of loving and secure relationships with parents and/or a key person.             
  • Enabling Environments: The environment plays a key role in supporting and extending children’s development and learning.                                
  • Learning and Development: Children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates and all areas of Learning and Development are equally important and interconnected.                              


Within the theme of Learning and Development, there are 7 areas of learning.  These areas are called “prime” and “specific”.

The “prime” areas are:

Communication and Language
Physical Development
Personal, Social and Emotional Development

The “specific” areas are:

Expressive Arts and Design
Understanding the World

The programme of learning enables the children to develop at their own pace.  Children at this young age are in a period of rapid physical and intellectual change and we consider that all children should be developed to their full potential.